April 2, 2012

Quiksilver Hosts The St. Barth Open of Surfing

A mobile event depending on swell direction, the St. Barth Open of Surfing took place at Lorient Beach on the beautiful French West Indies Island of St. Barth. On tap was a nice 2-3 foot easterly ground swell giving all competitors some playful waves to prove their skills. Also brewing was a hungry field of  80+ surfers both local and from neighboring islands of St. Martin, Guadaloupe, and even Venezuela. Matt Kechele, representing Quiksilver, came out to lend a hand, judge and scout out new talent in the region. With frothing groms, barbecues, perfect weather, and great music, it was a fine caribbean good vibes moment.

The Open final proved to be a high flying high performance surf off thanks to light trade winds blowing into the lefts. Whipping air 360′s were the norm with the standout surfer, Jordan Oueslati, taking the win with solid surfing and a solid air rotation. Congrats to Jordan and enjoy your custom Channel Islands. The mini groms saw a competitive field all mixing it up on two different peaks. Twin bothers Thomas and Noe’ Ledee lead the pack coming in first and second. The boys division was an impressive field and all surfed well but the win went to Titouan Boyer for his smooth top to bottom surfing. The swell held throughout Sunday and the longboard division saw perfect conditions for great high performance nose riding and foam bounce rebounds. The Longboard Final win went to Jordan Oueslati for his second division win of the event.  In the Girls Final, Tessa Thyssen ripped a few solid backhand turns just edging out little ripper Nina Reynal for the win.

A special thanks to Philippe and Christine Caze, the St. Barth Quiksilver store employees, the Reefer Surf Club, Valerie, David, Heineken Beer, Le Sereno Hotel, Mauritius Car rental and Radio St Bath for the good vibes.

Mini Groms:
1.  Thomas Ledee- St. Barth
2   Noe’ Ledee – St. Barth
3.  Liam Henneguim – St. Barth
4.  Norman Peubom – St. Barth

1.  Titouan Boyer – St. Martin
2.  Tom Houillez – St. Martin
3.  Thomas Djoumenjou – St. Martin
4.  Louca Clement – St. Martin

1.  Jordan Oueslati – Guadeloupe
2.  Elliot Ivarra – St. Barth
3.  Timothe Bisso – Guadeloupe
4.  Alex Mignot – St. Barth

1.  Tessa Thyssen – St. Barth
2.  Mima Reynal – St. Barth
3.  Marianne Collet – St. Barth
4.  Joanna Blanc – St. Barth

1.  Jordan Oueslati – Guadeloupe
2.  Timothe Bisso – Guadeloupe
3.  Gilley Ivarra – St. Barth
4.  Antoine Pous – St. Barth