December 12, 2008

Kelly Slater Wins the Pipeline Masters

Photos: ASP/Covered Images

Kelly Slater has done it again. The best just gets better and better and better. On the heels of his 9th world title, Kelly won the Pipeline Masters for a 6th time. This is the 6th win of his 2008 season and the 40th of his career. He posted an amazing come from behind win in the semi finals against Timmy Reyes where he scored a 9 and a 10 on two waves in rapid succession with only minutes remaining in the heat, and he easily defeated Chris Ward in the final. This is his first Pipe crown since 1999 and he did it riding a 5-11 disc shaped board in solid 6-8 foot barreling surf.

Jeremy Flores, Fred Patacchia and Dane Reynolds also had notable performances. Jeremy finished in 10th position of the final ASP ratings, Fred at 12th and Dane, despite being injured, ended the season in 22nd and is now the 2008 ASP Rookie of the Year. Miky Picon finished in 21st and also qualified for next year’s tour.

Stay tuned for more to come from Pipeline!