December 10, 2009

FUEL TV to air “The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau” Friday, December 11

image001

FUEL TV Airs “The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy” starting Friday, December 11, 2009 at 6:30pm PT / 9:30pm ET.

Massive waves at “The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy”  brought out former contest winners Kelly Slater, Bruce Irons, Keone Downing, Ross Clarke-Jones and 60-year-old Clyde Aikau, as well as big-wave vets Garrett McNamara, Shane Dorian, Andy Irons, Peter Mel, Michael Ho, Greg Long, Sunny Garcia, and Grant “Twiggy” Baker. The world’s best hit the huge surf at Waimea Bay on the North Shore of Oahu going for the $98,000 purse at this, the 25th Anniversary event. Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau is the world’s longest running and most prestigious big-wave invitational.

Watch all the drama unfold through the contest as surfers post higher and higher scores, coming to conclusion with a dramatic finale as underdog Greg Long comes out of nowhere and steals the win from 9-time World Champ Kelly Slater.

The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau Air Dates:
Friday, 12/11/09                     9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT
Friday, 12/11/09                     12:30am ET / 9:30pm PT
Saturday, 12/12/09                 10:00am ET / 7:00am PT
Saturday, 12/12/09                 3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT
Sunday, 12/13/09                   10:00am ET / 7:00am PT
Sunday, 12/13/09                   7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT
Monday, 12/14/09                  12:00pm ET / 9:00am PT
Tuesday, 12/15/09                  6:00pm ET / 3:00pm PT

image007

image006

PHOTOS: PAULO DIAS

Comments